Daddy’s Video Games vs Reno’s Video Games

Lately, I’ve been buying a lot of the classic games that I used to own as a kid. Like my NES, Sega Genesis, Nintendo 64…. just games like that. Most of it is just to have those games and a collection for myself, to be able to go back and play the originals as they were meant to be played on the original systems. But part of me also would love to be able to show Reno what the games were like when I was his age. I’m not sure if I’m just hoping that he’ll appreciate whatever technology is around at that point of his life even more. I know being someone who started playing with an Atari 2600, I’m just amazed at how much technology has advanced in just my existence. You know, from the whole one joystick and one button, and how we thought it couldn’t get any better than that.

Which brings me to another thought. What in the world is technology gonna be like in another 30 years. Or even in another four or five years when he’s able to get his hands on a controller to play. Will he laugh at my games? Will he think, “What in the world is this, dad?”. I can only imagine what will be going through his mind. Will his games in the future be all mentally controlled? Or if you’ve seen the movie Gamer, you see that kid’s setup, will it be like that? I’m a little jealous thinking about it now. I want a full 360 room for my gaming!

The other day I got a chance to sit and play a little bit. Decided why not take it back to the classic NES game, Super Mario Bros. I never realized how frustrating this game would be, should it have been a real life experience. I mean seriously, picture this: you’re a plumber, hard working, blue collar job. For some reason, you’ve been called to rescue the princess, okay, cool. It’s an honorable job. I mean a princess, pretty big job. So here you are, fighting these birds that don’t fly, turtles that walk aimlessly, man eating flowers coming out of sewer tubes, along with so many other creatures that are all the size of you or bigger. And as your battling along the way, you might as well pick up all the money you can right? Eat a couple of mushrooms and flowers to get bigger or special abilities. Then you reach the castle. Jumping over lava dodging fire balls and chains. You finally reach the end where you must fight this dragon turtle? You slay him only to find a mushroom dude, in what appears to be a diaper that thanks you and then apologizes cause the princess is in another castle. Okay so we reached the wrong castle once, but 7 times the wrong castle?!? I’m sorry, but I gotta say after the third castle I’m done here. I don’t have time for this! I got a job that I gotta get back to, and you want me to continue dodging the humongous bullets trying to kill me? Nope. She’s not even that cute. I’ll find another princess or something. And this little toad character, how the heck does he keep getting captured? I think I’d just tell the dragon turtle to just keep him, put him in a soup, eat him, whatever. You get captured 7 different times, you deserve to be a meal. Stay home! Stop going out!

I only played till the end of the third level. Didn’t have time to go any further. I just got my unlimited lives from that one turtle coming down the steps. If you played the game enough, you know which one I’m talking about. You get so many lives they stop becoming numbers and just weird symbols. I guess after this post, I really haven’t made an argument to make him want to play this one. Maybe he’ll still give it a shot one day. I think it would be fun to see.

4 thoughts on “Daddy’s Video Games vs Reno’s Video Games

  1. Bro I still have some of them games for NES, Sega Master system, SNES, N 64, Turbo grafix 16, Sega Genesis etc in storage and although they were fun now I look at them and say no thanks..lol. I too will see what my son will think of these games.

Leave a Reply

